PENNSYLVANIA VICTIMS COMPENSATION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
Pennsylvania law provides that persons who are the innocent victim of a crime may be eligible for compensation including: medical expenses, counseling expenses, loss of earnings, loss of support, relocation expenses, funeral expenses, crime-scene cleanup, transportation expenses, childcare, home health care expenses, and stolen case. Pain and suffering and most stolen or damaged property is not covered. The overall maximum award shall not exceed $35,000 except in limited cases.
The crime must have occurred in Pennsylvania. The crime must be reported to the proper authorities or a Protection From Abuse order filed within 3 days of the crime, with limited exceptions. You must cooperate with law enforcement authorities, the courts and the Victims Compensation Assistance Program. You must have paid or owe at least $100 arising from the crime unless you are age 60 or older. The claim must be filed within 2 years of discovery of the crime with exceptions if the victim is a child.
Further information and application forms can be received from Help For Victims Of Crime in Pennsylvania at (800) 233-2339; online at www.pacrimevictims.com.
Pittsburgh has a local office located at Centers for Victims, 3433 East Carson Street, Suite #300, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (412) 482-3240. They provide comprehensive support and services for victims of Domestic Abuse, Sexual Assault and all other criminal victims. Their 24-Hour Crisis Hotline number is 1-866-644-2882.